Novel novelty?

Imagine this: I’m in the bath, reading this month’s edition of “Diva” and I spot an article about “National Novel Writing Month”. I’ve heard a bit about it and I remember someone I know doing it last year.

The real question is this, will the novelty of writing a novel in a month wear off?

The target is 50,000 words in a month which is roughly 12,500 words a week, which then boils down to 1785 a day. Now I know some days I will write more than that (hopefully much more) and some days I will write less and some days I might not even write anything. The big issue is that it’s more than a posts worth of content in one day. If I can’t keep up with my blog how will I keep up with that?

I’ve got an idea of what I want to write about as well but do I have enough material/inspiration to write an entire novel?

Should I go for it?

41 thoughts on “Novel novelty?

  1. musiqfreak says:

    Go for it, my boss recently showed me the NaNoWriMo site and has encouraged me to consider turning my blog into a novel, I’m almost writing that many words a day anyway and there’s a lot of support throughout the site if you do get stuck on content have a look and think it through, if you’ve got a good idea already then you’re miles ahead of most people who want to write.

  2. MissRhiosace says:

    I’m in two minds myself. Have a few ideas floating around my head for novels, but I too have trouble posting enough on my blog. Although once you start writing a story, it starts to flow more than blog posting. You can write walls and walls of text in a book without worrying about layout or pictures or breaks.
    Ask yourself how much you want to write a book and that’ll be your answer. I think I will instead try and post more on my blog and then do it next year perhaps. I have a whole story planned, but I can’t decide how to end it, when I’ve come up with an ending I’ll go ahead with my book.

    • waggcomedy says:

      That’s very true! I think I’ll be ok once I get into the flow of it but I’m worried about losing enthusiasm… That’s a really good idea – I wish you all the best! πŸ˜€

  3. Do it! The worst that can happen is you get bored/tired and stop. Why not give it a shot? πŸ™‚ And don’t worry about not having enough material/inspiration — the beauty of NaNo is that, in your frenzy of writing, things like that will just come to you!

  4. cascaded says:

    NaNoWriMo is great – go for it. There’s a lot of support to be found and all people there are striving for the same goal. If you really are serious about writing, then it will help you to finish something of novel-length.

  5. mcbink says:

    Give it a go! You can always use the material later if the challange fails πŸ™‚

  6. This is a tough one. What will actually happen with your novel after you submit it? I say that you should at least start it and see where you are in 5 days. If it’s too much to handle or you cannot keep up, then stop. But at least give it a shot.

    • waggcomedy says:

      Well I’m not even sure if I will submit it, I just want to see if I’m able to do it or not. I think I’ll be more challenged with the time scale rather than the actual writing so I kind of don’t mind how the actual content is. Obviously, I want it to be well written as well but I’d like to see how I cope with the actual writing process. I think I will give it a shot, cheers for your advice. πŸ™‚

    • hollyiblogs says:

      Committing to 5 days isn’t even a BIW.

      Committing to 50k words, hell or high water, starting boldly & with determination, is magic. You have to fight it out with bad days and self doubt. There are no parachutes! You just keep going anyway. Not everyone does it their first year. It’s a skill to learn, writing a book, but the only way to learn is to keep putting words down.

      • waggcomedy says:

        I ended up only getting 11,000 words but I’m determined to do it again next year and get to at least 25,000. Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚

      • I do agree that the key is persistence and to keep writing no matter what. Personally, I do write short fiction and poetry. But I do not have the knowledge or skills to write a novel. Yes, I could do it if I really wanted to, but the short form is more suited to me. Good luck :>

  7. BriegeH says:

    I think you should go for it, the timeline/deadline to get it done is daunting to me as well, it would be great to get the 50,000 words done but if not at least a good chunk of a story idea will be developed.

  8. estyree says:

    NaNo encourages a motto of “December is for Editing!” Just get the word count out and, if you get tired of the novel or fall short on word count, you can always choose the ‘rebel route’ and use the blog posts/novel writing/ new story, for your word count. The important thing is to write, and to love doing it. If you can do that, then you win no matter what the final word count is! Look me up on NaNo, writerbaby13, I will be your writing buddy! Good Luck!

    • waggcomedy says:

      If only I’d seen this comment before I gave up on NaNoWriMo! How did you get on? πŸ™‚

      • estyree says:

        My family moved during week 2/3 and I wound up with less than 20,000 words due to moving my toddler…but I wrote through to the last possible minute and am still working on the draft between painting and organizing sessions.
        Every month can be a noveling month as long as you keep at it!

  9. Do it!
    This is my tenth NNWM. They just get more fun.

    If your original idea gets “done” in two weeks, let it morph into something bigger. You don’t know how big an idea is until you write it.

  10. mistahlistah says:

    I love me some NaNoWriMo. I’ve done poorly just about every year, but I’ve also sponsored it at my high school. Watching the kids write and write and write is what amazes me the most about the month.

  11. FreeRangeCow says:

    You’ll only know if you try…with an escape clause. If it starts feeling like too much of a job, and is ruining writing for you, then pull the parachute. Sometimes, with the way my brain works, I can defeat myself by trying too hard for “the goal,” forgetting the journey matters, too! *Hope that made sense any any of it helped you*

  12. WilderSoul says:

    I agree with FreeRangeCow – it is the journey that matters! I tried a NaNoWriMo goal last year, and discovered that although I didn’t write a novel, my blogposts exceeded the 50,000 word count for the month!
    If your blog adds up to a novel’s worth of words already, and you have an idea you’d like to put into words, then NaNoWriMo is great way to garner the enthusiasm for it! I imagine that simply writing *without any thought of editing or judging* will be a fantastic journey in itself. No worrying about format, or “how good” it is, just get whatever is on your mind into one body of text. Simply to know that it was all typed in one month is an astounding leap forward in confidence for an aspiring novel writer. Look at me going on about it. Perhaps I should consider leaping into it too!!! πŸ™‚

    • waggcomedy says:

      Thank you for your comment! I completely agree, what I found most enjoyable was how free I could be with what I wrote. Did you try it this year? πŸ™‚

      • WilderSoul says:

        No…. I am making another colouring book hopefully before the end of the year! Maybe next year I might be in a better position to try writing a long story. I am starting with blog post sized chunks of fiction. I haven’t read or written fiction much for decades. It will take a while to slowly wade in!
        Enjoyable and freeing sounds like something wonderful to look forward to!

  13. WilderSoul says:

    By the way – whether you leapt in or not (as I look at my imaginary watch and discover November is almost over) I’d like to present you with this little gift, as I notice you’ve been following my blog since near its humble beginnings. Thank you…
    http://wildersoul.wordpress.com/free-gift
    Kia ora,
    Anasera

Leave a Reply

