This week has been a very “out” week.

Happy national coming out day everyone!

I’ve never really done anything to celebrate this day and I don’t think today will be any different.

I find it interesting that we go through so many “main” or “big” comings out: the first coming out, the one to family, to work etc… But, when you think about it, we never stop coming out. Whether someone new joins my department at work or I’m introduced to a friend’s boyfriend, I am always coming out.

I find, as I get more comfortable, I am discovering new ways to come out. Sometimes I simply chuck in a few female pronouns into conversation or sometimes I challenge people on what they said. Just recently, I was saying to someone at work about a sexual dream that I’d had and someone else interrupted by saying “Heterosexual or homosexual?” and I responded “Homosexual, like they always are. Why do you ask?”. Turns out, she’d been working with me for nearly a year and had no idea I was gay, where has she been?

There’s increasing pressure from society and organisations for “celebrities” to come out, whether they be actors and actresses, football players or politicians. And there’s also mass coverage of companies “supporting” and “encouraging” these people to come out. Unfortunately, it isn’t always received well and some people have damped the mood by asking why people need to come out and why it needs to be such a big deal.

I can see both side of this argument. I mean, yes, it’d be lovely to live in a world where people don’t have to come out because it’s not assumed that they’re straight but, unfortunately, this isn’t the case. And no, it shouldn’t be such a big deal but by ascribing a subject a taboo label it becomes a big deal and, let’s not forget, for some people it is a huge deal. After years of hiding or being in denial, coming out is a huge relief and is worth talking about. As well as this, “celebrities” coming out could give the courage for others to. I, for one, seek comfort in the fact that I’m not the only person who’s been through some of this tough stuff and if it takes a celebrity for some kid to be comfortable enough to come out then ahem to that!

(I touched upon this subject before in a post you can read here: https://waggcomedy.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/jason-collins/ )

Basically, whether or not you’re coming out today, I hope you have a good day and relaxing weekend!

8 thoughts on “This week has been a very “out” week.

  1. Shazz Hamid says:

    I like your writing. Your funny 🙂

  2. Tom Janus says:

    Great post! I’ll add, that another value for “celebrities” coming out, is that it shows the hetro world that there are a lot of us out there, so they should just as well get comfortable with us and forget all the bashing and other rhetoric

  3. MissRhiosace says:

    Haha this is usually me, “she’d been working with me for nearly a year and had no idea I was gay, where has she been?”.
    I can never immediately tell, but to me it doesn’t matter, I value other humans on how nice they are, not what sexuality/race/etc/etc they are.

  4. Haha. I’ve written something about being gay weeks ago, and I didn’t get much of a response. I made an effort to send it to my friends in Facebook — nah. But, it’s really good to know that some do care. Lovely post, by the way!

    Here’s a link to that post…should you be interest.
    http://mockingbird181984.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/who-you-are-is-okay/

Leave a Reply

