Orange is the new what?

What is it about lesbians and the colour orange?

So all I’ve heard about recently is “Orange is the new black”, but I’m yet to watch it.

This is for a couple of reasons: 1, I don’t have a Netflix account and, 2, I don’t want to allow myself to like it.

So before I get a Netflix account and decide to spend hours of my life watching it, I want to know your opinion. Have you watched it? Is it worth watching? Should I review it? Let me know!
UPDATE: I’ve just got a free month trial on Netflix and what is one of the programmes it suggests? Orange is the new black. My obsession starts here I am sure.

20 thoughts on “Orange is the new what?

  1. t.dot says:

    My 2 cents 🙂 Watch it! It’s really well done, the characters are actually believeable, the growth and change of the main character is surprisingly real and unless you’re a stone face, it will make you laugh. It’s intelligent and well written. I’m not a tv person, but like you, I heard much ado about and decided to check it out. I’m not sorry I did – for a week I was addicted and can’t wait for the next season to come out cuz they leave you hanging with your mouth open at the end of the last episode! So yeah, I enjoyed it lol 😉

  2. I was planning on avoiding this too, but when I ran out of things to watch on my borrowed Netflix account and complained to my husband, his friend shouted through the xbox headphones at him “tell her to watch Orange is the New Black, if she doesn’t she’s missing out on a naked Laura Prepon” so loudly it made me laugh, and then I clicked play. I am almost all the way through the first season. It isn’t the best thing I’ve ever watched, parts of it really get on my nerves, but I keep going back and clicking play every night. Sure the main focus is on one lady but they have made the effort to include little back stories on numerous supporting characters. They try to make the show multi-faceted which I appreciate. There are areas that fall flat, or seem like parts were edited out that take away from the story in places though. While I have no intention of promoting the show to friends and family, I wouldn’t discourage anyone from watching it…there are plenty of worse ways to kill time.

  3. Hi I haven’t watched but keen to do so. nice blog:)

  4. amandawins says:

    It’s pretty good so I say go for it. I don’t think you’ll regret it. And also a side note, it’s based on a memoir. So know that there’s a Piper out there somewhere that actually went to prison.

  5. Global Girl says:

    Start with Breaking Bad !!! Haven’t seen Orange is the new black yet, but I think that’s what I’ll start next on my netflix 🙂

  6. themofman says:

    Is it a new TV show? I’ve got to look it up. I’ve never heard of it.

  7. OMG it is fantastic! Such great performances and so well written, get on it 🙂 and Breaking Bad is the baddest

  8. kat says:

    Okay, I’m late to this, but I do recommend Orange is the New Black. And as an aside, I didn’t know the color orange had anything to do with lesbians; I thought it was because most of the prison uniforms here in the United States are orange. But now it gives me a different bit of perspective on the show . . .
    Someone had also recommended you watch Breaking Bad; definitely agree with that one.

    • waggcomedy says:

      I’ve just finished it and I should (hopefully) be putting a review of it up soooon! 🙂 Ahhhhh, that makes sense now!
      I started watching Breaking Bad but I couldn’t get into it – I might have to try again!

Leave a Reply

