A question for you all.

Evening everyone!

When I set up this blog I planned to talk about my comedy career (or lack of) but, as the year went on, I found myself posting more and more about my life; including my sexuality, my work and my photos. I’ve even braved topics such as my dad’s death and the things I fear in life.

And, a couple of times, I’ve talked about my dreams. (As in the things I think when I sleep.)

Last night I had a dream that came as a bit of a shock to me. It wasn’t upsetting or distressing or really abstract; it was just a shock. I was with people I knew, having normal conversations and doing day-to-day things but one aspect of it jolted me awake; and there were tears, both happy and sad.

I have been wanting to share with you (my awesome readers) some of these slightly deeper and a lot more personal things but I’m not sure how you’ll take to it.

I considered making a whole new blog to get these emotional rambles out but I don’t think it’d be the same; I don’t think I’ll find this supportive network anywhere else.

Obviously, if I were to start posting those kind of things on here I’d continue to carry on posting songs of the week and photos and reviews (“Hey Wagg, where is that Maxxie review?” “Yeah, it’s coming… Soon…”).

So how does everyone feel about me posting these slightly more experimental things on here? It wouldn’t be frequent but they’d be a lot more compulsive and maybe a little bit less coherent.

Let me know, I look forward to your opinions. 🙂

39 thoughts on “A question for you all.

  1. shellakers says:

    I love the idea of you using this blog for anything you wish it to be about. For real. It’s YOUR blog and you should feel free to post what you wish. There will be people who will skim over it if they don’t want to read something that deep but then again, you’ll pick up new readers who are interested in what you have to share. People can learn from all kinds of situations and personally, I like the deeper posts. The post that are real life and not just geared for light conversation. There are the times when all I have time to read are the light hearted ones though. Hope that helps?

    • waggcomedy says:

      You make a very good point! That’s sort of the thing I am most worried about; people skimming over it and then deciding that they aren’t interested in my blog anymore. I want to make good content that everyone is pleased with. That did indeed help, thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

      • shellakers says:

        Don’t worry about losing people. If I don’t like smething that someone writes, I don’t have to read it and sometimes I don’t read it. If I like the person, I always go back and keep checking on them. Even if you were my bff, I wouldn’t agree with you ALL the time. We’re all so different but that’s what makes blogging so colorful. It’s personal and then sometimes, when we’re not feeling much like sharing, we can post other articles or advice or general interest stuff.

        As long as you’re REAL, it will come shining through. If you’re catering to other peoples wants and needs, I believe people will spot you as a fraud and then stop reading. I don’t think that’s what YOU do but I have seen other bloggers go down that route. Just be real and I think you already are 🙂

      • waggcomedy says:

        Haha that’s very true – I rarely agree with some of the things my best friends say/do! That’s very true – it does make blogging more interesting when we all have a different take on things!

      • shellakers says:

        HAHA! See I KNEW you’d agree with me! lol 🙂

  2. t.dot says:

    Wagg, always remember this is your personal space on the web, in the universe for that matter and as such it’s yours to say whatever you feel you need or want to say. Express yourself as you would talking to a friend because you’re right, you do have a supportive network out here in WordPress land and we love hearing from you; happy or sad, serious or funny, sexual or questioning. This is life baby girl and whatever feels right and good to you in your heart, you should never question or seek opinion on. So…in my humble but opinionated opinion lol, write whatever the hell you want girl and enjoy the freedom it gives you! If you lose one follower, trust me, you will gain another. Everything we say and talk about here helps, guides, mimicks or enhances someone else’s life, dreams, goals, fears and concerns. You’re not alone in your need to express whatever it is you want to express. So be brave and have fun! Hugz xo

    • waggcomedy says:

      Thanks for your comment – it made me feel a lot better about posting stuff on here. I guess I sometimes forget that I can write whatever I want because I’m so driven to making my readers happy and enjoy my posts. I’ve never really thought about making it like I’m talking to a friend, but that is a great piece of advice and I will definitely start doing it! Thank you again, you are so kind to me. 🙂

      • t.dot says:

        You’re welcome sweetie 😉 enjoy! I look forward to the reads and baby girl, always remember that you will NEVER be able to please all the people all the time…so don’t waste your precious energy even trying! Be true to you and somehow things will work themselves out. It’s just a universal fact lol. Glad I could help. Muah xo

    • Dace says:

      this is a really good point – this is your space and you should post and write whatever your heart feels. Besides, you want quality readers and not quantity.

      Why would you want to keep people around who can’t understand you or want to judge you? Some people come and go and those who leave, should leave. There will be more coming as if you have something to say, there is somebody out there who needs to hear / read what you have to say.

      For every word, there is an ear. For every feeling, there is a heart that longs for it. For every tear, there will be a hand to wipe it off…

  3. Becky says:

    Completely agree with the comment above 🙂 love reading your blog; didn’t realise how much stuff affected you even though i’ve known you since year 4, and its interesting and good to see the confident you have to talk about issues so close to you. You should post the more experimental stuff; I admire you for doing so 🙂 OH and good luck with the weight loss! We all know you can do it 🙂

  4. orbphotog says:

    you have received heartfelt advice above, this is your space….

  5. FreeRangeCow says:

    Ditto t-dot. Bring on whatever you feel safe and ready to bring. The one thing I have noticed about most WP readers is they relate, but don’t preach. This is allowing me to bring up even more sensitive things of my own (slowly, but surely). I love your stuff and what draws me is how fooken REAL you are. I am drawn to that!

    • waggcomedy says:

      Haha fooken real – made me giggle! 😀 I’m glad you like my stuff! And I hope you continue to talk about more sensitive things of yours because you are a bloody awesome person! 😀

  6. Loz says:

    Yep, ditto to all that has been said already! You go right ahead and post exactly what you want to Wagg. This is your space. I say bring on the incoherent and compulsive stuff!!! Life is one big experiment and game anyway, so go for it!

  7. Love, if you can’t be yourself here, where can you. If there are people who don’t like it, are they really accepting you, or should they really go fuck off?

  8. araneus1 says:

    Do you trust us? We trust you.
    Post what you need to post!
    Publish and be damned!!!!!! (I forget who said that)
    Terry

  9. Tom Janus says:

    I’m not sure that I’ve ever commented on your bloggy before, so here it goes…your posts are great and I love stopping by here…and if you want to divert occasionally to post random personal highlights about your life…I’d say go for it! I would feel bad for you, knowing that every time you finished posting something, that you felt like you failed in truly expressing your inner feelings…in blogging, nothing could be more frustrating.

    • waggcomedy says:

      Thanks for your comment and your regular visits. 🙂 That’s the thing – I feel like I’m not fully reaching my blogging potential because I don’t always get 100% of what I’m feeling out there. But I plan to, so it should be… interesting! 🙂

      • shellakers says:

        You don’t have to get 100% of what you’re feeling out there because NONE of us do all the time. Each day is different and we communicate differently on any given day 🙂

        I was going to agree with Tom and say that if you wanted to write about a personal story (one that you feel comfortable sharing), you SHOULD write. I think with blogging, it should be so personal because it’s a reflection of you.

        And apparently you have a LOT of people who love you! You’re doing something right sweetie! 😉

      • waggcomedy says:

        Thank you, that means a lot. Yeah, I’m really lucky on here to have such a supportive group of readers. 😀

  10. wolff42 says:

    I say it’s a brilliant idea. At the very least it’ll give you more posts, speaking from someone who’s running out of ideas themselves…

  11. Kavita Joshi says:

    Blogging – way to tell the world what’s in your mind. People who don’t like to share much usually don’t get into blogging I feel. And here its a community of people of very diverse interests. So no matter what you post as long as the posts have quality you will always find people who would love to read them. And as I also end up posting things related to life as its easier for people to relate to as we all have similar experiences in terms of feelings and reflections. In my opinion we would love to see what you have got in store as its always refreshing to read some one’s posts in different areas. I really appreciate you opening your heart to listen to us.

  12. Opalla says:

    Thanks for liking my Blog on Culture and nice to meet you in Blog sphere. I think you comedy work is part of you, and you cannot detach it from your entire self. Experimenting is good. I am have blogging different topics, and each one attract a different set readers and it is interesting. Please drop by:

    http://opallaontrails.wordpress.com/about-2/

Leave a Reply

