Life, death and Ford Fiestas.

Sometimes in life you think about death and sometimes in life you are forced to think about death.

I spend my whole life worrying about trivial things; “Is the mash lumpy?” and “Will my hair look ok?” and I sometimes forget to think about the bigger things; the more important things.

The “what if that person had been two minutes later?” things.

Why was she in her dressing gown? How much had he had to drink to be that drunk? Why the briefcase?

Why the bloody briefcase?

We were having a conversation at work about death and I, and a few others, confessed that we were scared of death. I’m scared of the uncertainty of it. I’m scared of when it will happen, how it will happen and, most importantly, will anyone I care about be there when it happens or will I be alone? Turns out I’m not just scared about death; I’m petrified.

And, in all honesty, I think I have a right to be.

Some people have done what they want to do in life; met the one, got the dream job, travelled to that idyllic place.

I haven’t but I want to.

If I died tomorrow I wouldn’t be content that I’d done it all; I’d be annoyed that I’d barely started.

So today I’m thankful that the mash isn’t too lumpy and that my hair looks reasonable and that I’m alive. I’m still alive.

18 thoughts on “Life, death and Ford Fiestas.

  1. RoseofTARDIS says:

    I’ve experienced the “what if’s” of death myself to many times. Whatever you do, don’t allow yourself to dwell on that fear or it will take away from time you could’ve spent doing the things you want to do before that time does come. You can get yourself into a loop thinking about what it would mean to be gone and you’ll realize your brain can’t comprehend it because there is no solid answer. I think you’re on the right track, be greatful for today, be greatful you are alive. More people need to think that way

    • waggcomedy says:

      That’s definitely what I’m doing – I’m just constantly thinking about it. I think I just need to take every day as it comes. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  2. ‘What ifs’ can suck the life out of the life you’re living…

  3. araneus1 says:

    Nothing to be worried about. You don’t go until you are supposed to. So relax and enjoy. Personally I enjoy lumpy potatoes, I even like the skin.
    Terry

  4. Nice post! I have nvr asked this of a blogger before, but I had to re-upload my last post, which you just LIKED and your like was erased with it. Would you mind LIKING it again???? Thanks!

  5. Maybe we shouldn’t worry so much how long we live as how wide.
    (You should have plenty of room for potatoes, tho, fear not! 😉 )

    • waggcomedy says:

      Thank goodness – potatoes are a huge part of my life! 😛

      • I just re-read my comment & want to point out that “wide” was meant in a metaphysical sense. 😉 (PS, I saw your more recent posts & since we were talking about food, wanted to be clear.) (PPS, I love potatoes, too. Even grow ’em!)

      • waggcomedy says:

        Haha, I knew what you meant! Oooh what kind? We grew some last year but they were a bit naff. :/

      • It’s a russet variety called Butte–delish & easy to grow. (Don’t know what sorts you’ve got across the pond…) We don’t grow in ground but use Smart Bags, a very simple system. Tried potatoes for first time last year and trying to double our yield this year. Fingers crossed the weather works out!!!

      • waggcomedy says:

        Ooooh I’ll have a look and see if I can get my hands on some! 🙂 *fingers crossed* 😀

  6. Vassilis says:

    I find comforting that I don’t know my time. And I also find helpful to think that I might die tomorrow. They might seem contradictory, but they are a great push to live life.

Leave a Reply

