My Tegan and Sara story.

I was 14 when I discovered Tegan and Sara. I was watching a video on YouTube about “how to tell if you’re a lesbian” (yeah, I know…) and someone referenced them. I remember frantically looking them up but not really getting them or their music. (I’ve found the video where I first discovered them, it brings back so many memories! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25WMe-FJXAE )

As I wasn’t out and didn’t have any gay friends (that I knew about) I didn’t really have an awful lot of exposure to them in the following few years.

I guess I started to look them up and listen to their music around the age of 16. I already knew a couple of their songs but my world stood still the first time I heard “Dark come soon”. I cried (of course) and listened to it non-stop for about a week. I instantly related it to my life and began listening to them more and more.

I really became interested (some might say obsessed…) in them when I was around 17 and had my first girlfriend. As the relationship started, continued and ended I had Tegan and Sara’s songs ringing in my head. From “I know I know I know” to “Back in your head” and finally “Soil, soil”.

I lost them a little bit with Sainthood but continued to support them and jumped at the chance of seeing them when they came to the UK in 2012.

We first booked tickets to see them at the 02 Arena in London and then saw they were doing a smaller, headlining gig in Bristol.

I parked my car in a car park that backed onto the back of the 02 Academy in Bristol. Me and my friend were walking down the stairs when Tegan and Sara got out of a small car and walked into the venue, literally feet away from us. Despite clutching my camera I took no pictures and despite having perfectly functioning vocal cords I said nothing. I had missed my opportunity to meet them and I have regretted it ever since.

The rest of the Bristol gig was phenomenal but slightly tainted by my stupidity in not saying something to them.

I was immensely proud seeing them perform in London, even though the venue had a different feel and the gig was a lot less intimate. As they were supporting The Killers the majority of the audience were not there to see them but it was a great show regardless.

And then, less than a month ago, Heartthrob was released and my obsession for them was fuelled once more.

5 thoughts on “My Tegan and Sara story.

  1. TomBoy says:

    I saw them with some friends (back before they were no longer partners) in 2010. I think except for “Livingroom,” I don’t really get them. Sometimes it’s really sad how damn old I am. I liked this entry though–nice writing–because I can tell how important music is to you.

  2. I just wanted to say thank you for taking a look at/following my blog, i really appreciate it! Lovin’ this post too, it’s so interesting to see how influential T&S have been to other people.

Leave a Reply

