TEGAN AND SARA: HEARTTHROB – A REVIEW.

I cannot believe it is finally here. Months after it was announced, I finally have Heartthrob residing in my iTunes. February has never been so good!

I could go on about how excited I am about this but I won’t as I’m pretty sure I’ll just start typing incoherent words like auhjhwjnshee.

On with the album!

We begin with “Closer”; an upbeat and delightfully catchy song. (The video is awesome as well; I’d like to point out!) For me, poignant lines in this song include “Here come the dreams of you and me, here comes the dreams” and “So let’s make things physical I won’t treat you like you’re oh so typical”. You can really feel the passion behind this song and I can say with a great deal of confidence that we will be hearing it everywhere! (I’ve already heard it on an ITV2 advert and Take Me Out!)

Next up is “Goodbye, Goodbye” which I think is a bit more traditional Tegan and Sara with a good amount of retro electronics added. It’s a nice pacey song with a meaningful chorus and a really distinct drum beat which is particularly noticeable during the bridge.

When I first heard “I Was a Fool”, the third track on the album, I didn’t take to it but it wasn’t long after I changed my opinion and I love it! The opening piano instrumental is beautiful and the lyrics are wonderfully descriptive. The later choruses and verses have a nice echo element which fits in well with the nostalgic feel of this song.

The fourth song is “I’m Not Your Hero” which is about being knocked down but still persevering. The vocals here are so clear and familiar which makes this song an instant favourite and the balance of slow verses and more pop-Indie choruses really hits the nail on the head.

“Drove Me Wild” is the sexualised fifth song which introduces us to a new, more mature Tegan and Sara; complete with adult themes and a more edgy tune to match.  Not my favourite song on the album but enjoyable nonetheless.

Just past the halfway mark of the album is “How Come You Don’t Want Me”. This song is full of bass and an electronic feel which is so welcome. This song echoes their “Sainthood” album and has some really heart breaking lyrics that are easily relatable.

“I Couldn’t Be Your Friend” is up next and I feel like the lyrics are lost a little bit in this by the charged up music. Not my personal favourite track but it has potential.

The eighth song is “Love They Say” and it’s magical. I have so much love this song! It’s not as upbeat as the others but it’s a really touching and I can see this being a big hit with romantics. It’s so laid back and unbelievably sweet and I adore it!

The slightly synth like beginning of the penultimate song “Now I’m All Messed Up” put me off to begin with but the chorus “Now I’m all messed up, sick and tired wondering where, where you’re leaving your makeup” almost bought me to tears and in the final seconds when the harrowing addition of “please stay” after “go, go, go if you want, I can’t stop you” I finally cried. But it’s hard not to cry at this song, if I’m honest. It’s so raw that you can’t help feel something.

The final song is “Shock To Your System” and is my least favourite song on the album. I feel like it’s a little dull and the lyrics are a bit fluffy; in that they’re not really there for a purpose. This last song disappoints me but has no real effect on how I feel about Heartthrob overall.

Overall, the album has completely won my heart. In short, it made my heart throb (see what I did there?). It’s clear how much work has been put into it and I know I’ll be listening to it for a long time.

I have to admit I’ve been surprised by the reaction by a few Tegan and Sara fans. Some people feel that this album is too “mainstream” or that is focuses too much on the music instead of the words. I can see where they are coming from but I can’t say I agree. It’s been fourteen years since they released their first album and it’s taken them so long to gain any notoriety. No, it doesn’t sound the same as previous albums but does that matter? I’m so happy that they’ve finally broken through to the top of an extremely harsh industry and I think they’re wonderful people to represent the LGBTQ community.

I can’t wait to see wait to see what comes next from these immensely talented women.  

One thought on “TEGAN AND SARA: HEARTTHROB – A REVIEW.

  1. gossipfevers says:

    Reblogged this on Gossip Fever.

Leave a Reply

