THE INCREDIBLY TRUE ADVENTURE OF 2 GIRLS IN LOVE – A REVIEW.

The first time I watched this film I was about 15 and I discovered it late at night on YouTube. I scanned through it for the kissing (something I still do with films now. If you say you don’t, you’re lying!) and paid little attention to the actual storyline.

About a month ago I had a real urge to watch it again and so I bought it on dvd and was, for once, pleased with an impulse buy of mine.

We meet Randy, a young, fresh faced and adorable lesbian who lives with her lesbian aunts and works at a local petrol station/garage. (I should also mention that Randy is played by Laurel Holloman who is probably best known for her role as Tina in The L Word. She was cute back then and she is just as cute in The L Word. Anyway, where was I…?)

Randy is engaged in a somewhat complicated relationship with a married woman who is clearly not as keen on Randy as Randy is on her.

One day Evie arrives at the garage come petrol station place and the pair meet.

They start hanging out and Evie is mocked about this because Randy is a lesbian.

(Yes, a lot more happens and yes I am skimming over the details slightly but I think the best bits of the film come later so I’m trying to get to them as quickly as possibly before I explode with enthusiasm!)

Did I mention how cute Laurel Holloman is?

Randy finishes with the married woman. Hallelujah to that!

One of my favourite parts of this film is where Randy and Evie get to know each other better. Evie lends Randy a book of poetry which Randy becomes completely consumed by and, in return, she introduces Evie to what music she likes. Whilst this is a completely normal friend type thing to do, we see the early stages of a relationship blossoming.

This comes to a head when Randy says she wants to hold Evie’s hand as they relax in a cafe. The awkwardness is evident but so is the affection and it’s a bold move given the prejudice against the LGBTQ community in that country at that time.

Evie is invited round Randy’s house and the true extent of their social class status is exposed. They clearly live in completely different worlds yet, like many other true romantics (Romeo and Juliet etc), it doesn’t bother them.

Outside they have their first kiss. And, given how sweet they are as a couple, it never fails to make me grin.

Things progress pretty quickly and soon the pair are spending a night together at Evie’s as her mum has gone away.  The scene is done so well that I find it really touching and, while I find it touching, Randy and Evie get down to some touching. (I had to ruin that there; I was getting too sentimental.)

Laurel Holloman is cute.

Evie’s mum comes back and finds them and they flee.

They run off to some sort of motel where everyone arrives (Randy’s aunts and best friend (who I’ve forgotten to mention… He’s cute and reminds me of someone I know…), Evie’s mum, the married woman Randy was sleeping with at the beginning, Evie’s ex friends and probably some others…). This reminded me of some sort of Shakespearean love triangle and I think after how good the rest of the film was, the ending is a disappointment. I would have liked to have seen Randy and Evie walking out, hand in hand, vowing to stay together forever. Instead they open the hotel door and everyone is staring back at them, shouting inaudible things while Randy and Evie cover their ears.

I could watch this film on repeat happily for the rest of my life. It’s light hearted but tackles a few really important issues head on. The characterisation is spot on and it captures the early excitement of a relationship and all the worries that can come with it.

If I had to give this film a star rating it would definitely be 5 out of 5!

Favourite line from the film, Randy:

“Some arsehole at work called me sir again today!”

Leave a Reply

