A letter to somebody I know from afar.

I’d like to tell you that it’ll all be ok but I can’t. You know it’s not true and I don’t want to lie to you; you deserve more than that.

Some people believe that white lies are helpful; they can protect people from the harsh truth. I think, to a degree, that’s accurate. Some difficult things in life are “character building” and I believe all things happen for a reason. For what reason though, I cannot tell you.

You are well meaning and honest but an aspect of that scares me.

Do you know what is ahead of you? Are you quietly confident? Or is it a front because you know the truth is hard to handle and you’d rather plough through than face up to it?

I say face up to it.

Don’t hide behind excuses and third person narratives that allow you to live vicariously. It won’t help you.

An unpopular opinion is still a worthy opinion and I thought, out of everyone, that you’d know that.

You will meet people that will understand you instantly and people who you will know for years who will not understand a single part of your identity. I used to think that without common ground life was meaningless. How can you express how you feel and share experiences if both of you do not understand what the other is saying in its full capacity? Now I understand that only understanding the notion or the thought behind something is enough. For example, you know how a sneeze feels, right? I can’t explain it but you know how it feels.

The past will be hard to look back on but you have to do it. It is what made you who you are now and without it you’d only be a fraction of the person you’ll be in ten years’ time.

If you ever doubt any of what I’ve said then think about what your life was like ten years ago and tell me it hasn’t got better. Except you won’t be able to tell me that because it has got better and it always will.

Leave a Reply

