THE FOUR FACED LIAR – A REVIEW.

I was recommended this film by a fellow WordPress user and I’ve finally got round to watching it.

It’s made by the well-known and established TLA who have released such films as “Boy Culture”.

First we see a woman who we’ll call A. A’s boyfriend (B) moves to New York to live with her. We also see another woman (C) and her boyfriend (D) who live with a lesbian (E).

They all meet one night at a bar called “The Four Faced Liar” and get chatting. It transpires that A and D already know each other from an English course.

(I’m using letters, by the way, because I can’t remember their names…)

I thought the beginning was a little slow and that the main chunk of the film lacked depth but I enjoyed the build-up.

We see A and E getting closer. A is into her boyfriend and enjoying having him around while E is dauntingly similar to Shane from The L Word (a bit laddish and sleeps around a lot but, ultimately, extremely lovable!).

Then there is a split scene thing which confuses me and, long story short, the couples break up. This, you would think, would lead to the natural formation of A and E as a couple; but no.

Yes, they’ve been sleeping together and, yes, they continue to but we leave them in the final scene lying on a bed maybe questioning their future. It wasn’t the happy ending I was expecting, granted, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I love films that show character development gradually and manage to culminate lots of different storylines into one. Whilst there were confusing elements (which were probably down to my own stupidity than a badly portrayed storyline) I can say that it is one of my favourite lesbian films to date and will continue to be. Great recommendation!

9 thoughts on “THE FOUR FACED LIAR – A REVIEW.

  1. songtothesirens says:

    Sounds interesting…..I love slow character building because it gives depth. You do not want to know everything all at once, that creates shallow characters and a similarly shallow plot.

    One of the best books I ever read was Dune, and I wear it took 3 weeks to get through the first 100 pages because the author was very slowly building the background of the story, the why of what happened following, and the main characters. Once past the first 100 or so pages of the book, I couldn’t put it down. And, that richness came from the author slowly developing his characters and plot.

    I’ll have to keep this movie in mind.

Leave a Reply

