New Year, same old me.

As some of you will know, my new year starts in September. I’ve always been a great believer in the academic year compared to the calendar year. The main reason for this is that nothing changes in January. I am always exactly the same I was ten minutes ago when it was December in a different year.

I am the same slightly over weight, cat obsessed, crappy catering assistant that I was the previous year. I have the same hopes, fears and pet hates. I live in the same house, wake up in the same bed and sit in the same chair that’s in the same place.

Think I’m annoyed by this? Think I want to change my life?

Well, you’d be wrong.

I am a complete creature of habit. I like order and routine and when that changes I flip. I don’t mean I get a bit grumpy I mean I actually feel sick and automatically resent whatever change has occurred.

This is why I hate technology, confrontations and economic downfalls. All of these things have the potential to change my life and that makes me fret full.

I don’t believe that change can be for the best. I believe that it may not always be the worst but that in some way I will feel short changed.

Maybe I’m like this because of all the pretty dramatic changes in my life and that I’m finally craving stability but can you blame me?

With change comes new responsibility, new challenges and new problems.

I get the impression that an awful lot of people don’t think like me and think that I’m pessimistic. I’m far from it; I’m realistic.

I’d love to live in a world full of nice smelling flowers and sunny skies. I’d love to have the perfect life complete with wife, career and family. But it isn’t going to happen straight away and, yes, I am aware that the more I push change away the more I push that life away but then I also believe that all things happen for a reason so there’s got to be a bit of luck for me somewhere? Please?

It’s not that I’m not hopeful for 2013; I am. I’ve got a lot of stuff to look forward. It’s just that I don’t get the new year hype and I think people are kidding themselves when they genuinely think that their will change for the better. Actually, substantial, progression can take months or maybe years and it certainly won’t happen during a drunken night looking at some mediocre fireworks.

I feel better I’ve got that out of my system. Better, but not much.

4 thoughts on “New Year, same old me.

  1. granny1947 says:

    I agree with you….for the last few years I have been fast asleep at midnight.
    Awake at a few minutes past midnight…when a couple of my idiot kids phone to say Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

