I find elderly people threatening.

I’m scared of push along shopping trolleys, walking sticks, silk scarves and Fox’s mints. In short I’m scared of elderly people.

Don’t like or don’t agree with those stereotypes? Fine. But I am fed up of being told that I wear a hood, carry a knife, take drugs, am rude, dropped out of school and am illiterate because I’m not and nor are most young people.

I’m not in fear of the elderly but I felt the need to mix things up a bit. It’s strange how absurd those stereotypes and fears sound when you change who they’re about.

I, like the majority of young people, have a job, got an education and do not kicks from beating up elderly people. But yes I do admit I wear a hood but in England where it rains a lot and is generally foul weather it’s to stop my hair from getting wet and not to mask my identity to CCTV cameras when I am battering someone in the street.

Now I know most people think teenagers are ok but for those who don’t I’ve got some news from you. I volunteer, I give money to charity and save hedgehogs from the side of the road. I do most of the things that “good people” do. Only issue is that I’m aged between 13 and 19 and that makes me a horrible, thieving, lying person. Guess what? I’m not. My idol was, and always will be, my grandad. He taught me the little things about saying please and thank you and the big things like how to ride a bike. And I miss him every single day.

I’m not a bad person and nor are 99% of the teenagers who just want to get on with their lives without having their reputation shredded all over the media.

I think teenagers deserve a break. Maybe if we can show how much good we can do people will stop focusing on the bad and just get on with life. Maybe, but probably not.

2 thoughts on “I find elderly people threatening.

  1. I once stood in the street. looking through a shop window, as my son, who was aged 6 at the time, queued at a counter in an orderly fashion to pay for something he’d bought with his pocket money. One adult after another barged in front of him, leant over him, and treated him as if he wasn’t there, while he, being a shy little fellow, continued to wait patiently.

    Not being quite so shy myself, I opened the door and asked the woman working the till if she was aware that five adults, who should have known better, had queue jumped in front of my son and that it was people like them who made youngsters lose respect for their elders.

    Another thing that does my head in, is when I see teenagers with good enough manners to hold doors open for adults, to have those adults sail past them without a word of thanks.

    I might not be young myself (now you can see you’ve got me going) but I’m still feeling resentful about a recent occasion when I was giving out programmes at a concert and one person after another walked through the door as if they had a bad smell under their nose, held out their hand to me without bothering to look my way, and took the programme without a word of thanks. I might as well have been a dispensing machine on the wall.

    There are some decent elderly people out there, but the trouble is that a few rude and hypocritical ones give a bad name to all the others.

    • waggcomedy says:

      That’s a really sad story about your son and would have really wound me up if I’d been there! Age shouldn’t dictate who gets served first! Exactly! I find myself going out of my way for some elderly people who look at me as if I’ve just slaughtered an animal in front of them!
      On a similar topic, I was walking to school one day with a friend of mine and it was raining. I had my hood on my coat up and a woman with her kid suddenly grabbed her daughter and said “You must be careful of strangers in hoods, they are not nice people”. I was so angry! I mean I can see where she’s coming from with stranger danger and all but her and her daughter were no-where near us and I was just minding my own business!
      Oooh I feel all grumpy now! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

