My thin wardrobe.

Today I cleaned out my wardrobe.

(Before I get any further I should probably comment on my state of mind. I am tired, grumpy and hungry. I am possibly hormonal and more than likely to be having a mood swing session. I am feeling nostalgic but also pro-active as if I’m looking forward to the future. Truth be told, I am just hoping for a slightly better situation than my current one.)

They say that if you look for love you don’t find it and that it is when you least expect it that it suddenly appears in your life. Well I’ve been trudging along in my single life for almost two years now and apart from the odd fleeting person or two I haven’t met anyone that I’m particularly impressed with.

It’s not that I’m picky either. I mean I have standards but when it comes down to it, I’m an easily pleased person and I’d like to think I’m pretty easy going and open minded.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been looking in all the wrong places or, rather, not looking at all. I’ve been pretty consumed with my job, friends and eating my weight in crisps and I hate to point this out but those things don’t often lead you to love.

So what has this got to do with my wardrobe?

A lot, actually.

I was thinking earlier about the person that I am and the person that I want to be. I am, in many ways, the person that I want to be. I’m just not showing it. I want to be thinner, better dressed, more approachable and even more confident and eccentric. And I believe that getting rid of some of the old me will help me to become those things.

So I went up to my room and attacked my wardrobe (not literally!).

I took out all the clothes that I had the intention to wear. These included smart skirts, weird tops and tight shirts. Then I took out the clothes that I no longer fit because I have swelled to a size that prohibits me from wearing size 12 trousers and size 10 tops (seriously, I can’t remember even being a size 10 it was so long ago!). Finally I rid myself of the clothes that I love but shouldn’t love. The shapeless hoodies, the baggy shorts and the clingy vest tops.

I’m going to continue to sort through my wardrobe until I reach a stage when I can begin to fill it back up again: this time with striped waistcoats, tight shirts and Aztec t-shirts (just for that bit of eccentric hipster. I just wrote hipster. Wow.).

I’m going to continue my never ending battle to lose weight and then who knows. Maybe I’ll find that girl.

26 thoughts on “My thin wardrobe.

  1. GreedyFrog says:

    I find getting rid of stuff rather therapeutic too!

  2. I’ve gone through my clothes before and after both pregnancies. It is so depressing to see clothes that no longer fit (and you feel you’ll never be able to fit into again). It’s also an awesome feeling to pick something out that fits and you feel great in! Enjoy shopping for clothes that fit who you are!

  3. Jack says:

    I’m guessing you meant smart shirts instead of skirts 😛

  4. this reminds me that I should organize my closet for the new season(s)…sigh, I am not ready for winter :-/

  5. poppytump says:

    Boots and Bullet Proof Tights Wonderful and Soft Woolly Scarves wound round and round and round 🙂

  6. Cam says:

    So insightful. My philosophy is to donate anything I don’t wear for more than a year but it’s hard to be ruthless… until you realize it makes room for more clothes 🙂

  7. The people who say “love finds you” are full of it. I found my husband because I looked for a boyfriend like it was my job. Put the energy out there and it will come back to you. And this post has reminded me that I need to clean my closet. And that I hate all my clothes.

  8. Deauna says:

    I had a Closet Therapy session a couple of times. It always amazes me when I find a teeny bopper T-shirt with silly sayings or drawings on them still in the closet or clothes two sizes too small that I kept as ‘motivation’ to lose the extra weight.

  9. Joyisnow says:

    I found that when I got back into my old clothes after losing loads of weight, I really didn’t like them anymore. But it was like I needed to get thin to realise that.
    On the subject of love, check out my post on How to fall in love on my other blog. (Like you it’s hard to stick to one theme when you are creative). . You might get some ideas http://emmacapell.wordpress.com/2012/10/28/how-to-fall-in-love/
    Hugs

    • waggcomedy says:

      Yes! I look at some of my old clothes and think “Did I really like to wear this?!” Oooh I’ll definitely check that out! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      • Joyisnow says:

        By the way, I love your title – Before Anything I am a Blogger! That’s my calling in life – took me a while to find it. Thank goodness blogging now exists! I am so grateful to be born in this era.

      • waggcomedy says:

        It’s true! Same! It’s a good way for me to write and get feedback without doing it in a structured educational way. And I love interacting with people too so this ticks all the boxes! 🙂

      • Joyisnow says:

        I know!! How many times have you thought you’d write a book and then put it in your too hard basket. Plus you don’t get feedback from books and who can be bothered with endless editing? I am just getting my confidence but it’s so much fun. So many great bloggers out there like you 🙂

      • waggcomedy says:

        Loads! I have so many half written books scattered around my room! Exactly! I can write posts as long or as short as I like and I can write about anything and know there will be people interested! I could not agree more! 🙂 Aww thank you, I echo that! 😀

  10. Thanks for checking out my website! It’s quite refreshing when you do a wardrobe clean out!
    Chelsey

Leave a Reply

