I love winter.

Winter is the ultimate season in my opinion. Yes I like autumn, spring and summer but there is something very magical about winter.

I love nothing more than crunching through snow, running home in the rain and snuggling up in a thick winter jumper. And, if I may be so honest, I look pretty damn cute in a hat and scarf.

I’m not sure whether winter’s delightful connotations of childhood excitement makes it such a good season but I guess that could be a factor. I, like a lot of other people, adore Christmas. I must admit I hate the consumerism of it all but I love the gifts, the general happy mood and, of course, the food. So maybe that’s why I love winter because it houses one of my favourite celebratory occasions.

Or maybe it’s because it reminds me of a couple of years ago when, around the time of Christmas, I was in a rather lovely relationship. I think that plays a large part too. Winter reminds me of times I was truly happy.

It could also be because my granddad died very close to Christmas. Surely that’s not a good thing, I can imagine you thinking. And you’re right, it was awful. But when he died I was suddenly made aware of what a brilliant man he was. I mean I knew it all along but you don’t really realise what you’ve got until you’ve lost it. And so I use winter as a time to reflect on all the awesome times I had with him.

That’s not to say that good things haven’t happened in autumn, spring and summer but more that winter just makes me the happiest. And I cannot wait for it to be truly be winter.

18 thoughts on “I love winter.

  1. Thanks for visiting our blog.

  2. Me too I had started two of the best relationships I could ever wish in winter: maybe it’s just more charming falling in love in winter.

  3. Stacy Lyn says:

    I thought I was the only nut who loves winter. I guess I’m in good company. 🙂

    My very first post was about my winter-loving soul. http://stacyallbritton.com/2012/01/15/winter-soul/

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I think I will be visiting yours again, now that I’ve found you (or…you found me.) ❤

  4. greatwhitebrow says:

    As the Starks would say, winter is coming.

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    I also love winter 🙂

  6. Well, I gotta say I hate the cold, but you’re right, the whole spirit of Christmas is quite wonderful. 🙂

  7. Becky J. says:

    Thanks for stopping by carefreecomposition.com. I appreciate the blog love. It’s nice to meet you!

  8. I enjoy fall most but the past few years our winters have been so mild it has felt like fall.

Leave a Reply

