How have I still got a job?

Earlier I was counting all the major things wrong I have done at work in the past year. I counted twelve. So that’s one a month. That doesn’t sound like a lot does it? When you think that involves making an 11 year oldย cry, dropping an entire trolley of breakfast cereal (which went EVERYWHERE!) and emptying the contents of 12 cartons of cranberry juice all over the floor (not on purpose, of course!) it does seem rather substantial.

How have I still got a job?

I mean alongside all the good stuff I do it kinda works out even but regardless, I seem almost unemployable.

I’m grumpy, sloth-like and I eat everything in my sight. I swear lots and talk too much and I lose concentration early.

Note to self: do not write any of the above on my CV.

But I’m reliable, funny and a team player. I’d arrive an hour early and leave two hours late. And I can do my job and do it well (most of the time).

But every so often when I’m standing in front of a crying child or a pile of coco pops or trying to stop a cranberry river I do question how I’ve managed to hold a job down for a year.

Catering really isn’t my thing.

16 thoughts on “How have I still got a job?

  1. Phlegethon says:

    Well you put in the shift, I suppose that helps.
    And hey, I make children cry for free (xbox live). I wouldn’t worry about it.

  2. poppytump says:

    aww you will look back on this time [ later maybe rather than sooner] as mmmm EXPERIENCE and it will not matter one jot what has gone wrong . You will have got thro it. And sometimes that is perfectly well and good and sufficient. I am now thinking back to my early yrs of putting a soap dish in an autoclave in op theatres with terrible results ๐Ÿ˜ฆ making children cry with injections ๐Ÿ˜ฆ oh I daresn’t go on …. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Have you counted how many things you have done well? Maybe there are more major pluses than you knew. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. GreedyFrog says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I like your writing, I am following!

  5. Good luck with the job hunt!

Leave a Reply

