I didn’t want anyone to know.

I am a fabulous friend. I’m not but for the purpose of this post let’s assume I am.

I wanted to give my friend a really unique present for Christmas (a bit early? Yeah I thought so…) so I had a little hunt around and I found a website that would do exactly what I wanted AND they were offering a discount. Ace!

So I started tapping away and getting all excited about ordering it when I was informed that I had to create an account. Ugh. One more account that I will never go on but will insist on sending me spam emails even though I deliberately did not tick the promotions etc box.

So I create a generic password and get back on track.

I am in the final stages of perfecting my order when I press confirm and am told that the website is going to publish my purchase on a rather well know social networking site that I happened to be signed in to.

WHAT?!

I never asked it to that! I never gave it my permission to do that! I was outraged!

I especially didn’t want everyone knowing what I was buying as it was meant to be a surprise.

Thankfully, I deleted my order before it had the chance to pop up out of no-where and ruin Christmas. But really.

Is this the era I live in? Is this what I have to learn to expect? Every time I get a drink or watch a film or go to the toilet should I assume that it will appear on my profile?

Now I’m angry because I went through all that effort and didn’t get what I wanted and because I feel like my privacy was well and truly invaded. Sometimes I wish I lived in a time before the internet because I feel like people know so much about my life.

It’s like this whole new ad thing where relevant ads and websites pop up just because I’ve searched for “chicken” once in the past year. And suddenly I’m being told where to buy chickens from, how to raise chickens and if vegetarians miss eating chicken.

It’s crazy. So crazy. I didn’t want anyone to know.

20 thoughts on “I didn’t want anyone to know.

  1. Bill says:

    I . Get . This . Totally . My favorite is watching the advertisements in the side bar of my email trying to sell me things based on the (“private”) text IN MY EMAILS… What-the-what??!!??

    • waggcomedy says:

      Yes! I love how I can casually mention pandas to someone and oh a panda pops up. I’d love to know the actual terms and conditions of this whole not-so private thing!

      • Bill says:

        Will tell you this, though… I was a big Gmail fan and user for years, but have recently switched to live.com (hotmail – now going by “Outlook Mail”) and it is much better. There are still advertisements, but so far it doesn’t seem like they’re creeping my underwear drawers… Also, it’s integrated with an awesome hotmail calendar and all the other really good Microsoft stuff (now in the cloud) and Skydrive. It’s a very clean and simple interface, the way email should be… Just a tip.

        – Jeez, now I sound like an advertisement… (sorry)

      • waggcomedy says:

        Oooh that does sound better! I use about 3 different email things (all of which I am rather unimpressed with) so it’d be good to have one reliable one. How do I set it up? 🙂

  2. greatwhitebrow says:

    There is no such thing as privacy anymore. This is why I hate Facebook. Also, I don’t miss chicken. 🙂

  3. Bill says:

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/outlook/home?SignedIn=1

    The link above (with short video preview of the email) should get you there, but, if not, just type in “outlook mail” and you should be directed to a Microsoft Windows site that will enable you to sign up. – One of the things I like is that, with Google Docs, whenever I tried to upload a MS Word or Excel page (to the cloud), there would be some slight conversion problems. With Skydrive, a part of this whole package, it’s all nicely integrated with all the Microsoft products we’ve all used since the beginning of e-time. Enjoy! 🙂

  4. I’m just impressed that you’re ordering Christmas presents in September! How do you get that organized???!

    • waggcomedy says:

      I am super organised when it comes to presents… I like to have most of the presents by the middle of November. And I just ordered the present that I was put off buying. I scanned through and changed the privacy settings. Result!

  5. Honey says:

    I like chicken! What wrong with chicken? 🙂

  6. Honey says:

    P.S. I wonder if they have these FB Posts on more adult themed “toy stores”… Ooooh status update, Janie bought a 12” ….thermos

  7. abbspepper says:

    We’ll v soon be stretched out and pinned to a dissecting board like a squirrel. Privacy is no longer possible. But then living in a village where gossip is the fuel of all human interaction, we’re already used to that.

  8. The only thing I’ve been able to figure out as a *positive* to the lack of privacy we’ve come to expect from our online presence is this: when it’s time for my wife’s birthday, or our anniversary, or the holidays, I wait for her to walk away from her computer, then check her ads for gift clues.

    Other than that…it sucks. I’ve never been published just for buying something, but you’re totally right. Spoiler alert!

Leave a Reply

