Art.

I’ve always been awful at art.

Some people say that and they are lying. They complain about how awful they are and then they magic up a masterpiece. To those people I say “stuff you!”

Just because I am awful at art doesn’t mean that I can’t appreciate it. I do. I adore art in all its forms: whether it be paintings or photographs, poems or physical art with the body.

I sometimes think that art is such a great expression of how a person can feel which is why I resent the fact that I cannot portray what I feel in an artistic way. I sometimes feel trapped.

Sure I can draw stick people but you can’t really get stick people to show much depth. And I can take a photograph and colour within the lines but when it comes to art I am atrocious. I’m not even going to pretend.

At school I was drawing a bag when my teacher kindly reminded me that the project was to draw a bag and not a shark. We didn’t get on.

I’d like to say that my art was abstract. If it had any flare to it I may be able to get away with that but no. It’s just bad.

Whilst I understand that not everyone can be good at everything it frustrates me that I am not better at art. My dad had considerable graphic skills, my mum took her A Level in art when she was 16 and my cousin is just about to start her art related Master’s degree. Clearly the artistic gene has skipped me.

I’m thinking of getting into photography and I’m saving up for one of those hugely expensive cameras that would make even my pictures look good. But in the meantime I’m just going to drool over everyone’s artwork and one day hope that I will inherit some artistic talent.

6 thoughts on “Art.

  1. seapunk2 says:

    You don’t need an expensive camera to take good pictures. Read RickBraveheart’s blog here on WP. He gives lessons for all of us. 😀

  2. You are not awful at art! Beauty is in the eye of the beholder… There are some very famous paintings and artwork that I look at and am like “Really? This is good enough to be in this museum as a priceless gem???” Get this book: “Creative Awakenings: Envisioning the Life of Your Dreams through Art” by Sheri Gaynor. It doesn’t teach you how to do art (draw, etc.), it teaches you how to express yourself through your art — what it sounds like you’re hoping to do one day. It’s a great book (I’ve just started it) and it will have you arting it up daily and showing you that you CAN do art!

  3. Everyone looks at art differently but to me it’s about finding the truth in something. You can use painting or photography or, dare we suggest, comedy? When you get that laugh, you’ve nailed it. Keep on keeping on, Wagg.

Leave a Reply

