I’m such a hypocrite.

Firstly, I never follow my own advice. This can be demonstrated in many different situations.

1. Whenever people are getting down with how much they’re working I suggest they turn down any extra hours they’re offered. But the moment my manager utters “overtime” I automatically agree and, before long, I find myself leaving for work at half 6 in the morning; cold and grumpy.

2. When people are angry or upset or bored I tell them to do something that makes them happy or takes their mind off whatever is on their minds. Now I think that is quite good, constructive advice. What do I do when I feel like that? Sit at home and wallow.

3. I tell people that I think writing a diary is good. I explain how much it helped me in the past and how amusing it can be to look back on. Have I been keeping a regular diary recently? No. Occasionally I’ll do a little update like:

Dear diary (I never actually write that but I feel the need to on here…)

– I still work at the same place.

– I am still desperately lonely.

– I am still fat.

4. I make jokes about crazy cat ladies yet I have three cats and would like more…

Yeah, I’m such a hypocrite.

8 thoughts on “I’m such a hypocrite.

  1. Bill says:

    So am I. And everyone else too. And, your advice is good anyway. There’s a lot of good advice (I think) that pours out of me that I don’t live up to myself. Likely any psychologist, teacher, minister, life coach, good friend, etc., would say the same. Doesn’t matter. Sometimes we’re just the channels through which something flows that another person needs at the time. For instance, the honesty and openness in the sharing of your life here helps me to realize that we’re all very much the same. It has meaning and purpose for me.

    Elizabeth Gilbert: A new way to think about creativity : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86x-u-tz0MA

    • waggcomedy says:

      That’s true, I just sometimes wish I could follow more of my advice! I’m glad that by me sharing things other people can connect with me. I like to think that I’m as open as I can be on here and that some people will find my posts to be of interest. I’m just about to watch the link! 🙂

  2. michelle0509 says:

    I don’t think you’re a hypocrite. Hypocrites do the opposite of what they tell everyone. You just give good advice. Whether you live exactly how you advise people is up to you. It’s like how I give my friends relationship advice and I have had zero relationship experience. 🙂

    • waggcomedy says:

      That sounds exactly like me! I do sometimes feel like I do the opposite of what I tell others I should be doing which annoys me because I know what I should be doing and then I do the opposite!

  3. t.dot says:

    you’re too young to be a hyporcrite lol. give yourself another 20 years and then we’ll talk! ;p

  4. hypocrite is too severe. maybe we are just slow learners 🙂

Leave a Reply

