When you don’t quite hit that mark.

Today I had an important interview. I knew I needed to perform well and I knew it wasn’t going to be easy. What I didn’t expect was how hard it would be.

In short, I think I did very badly.

I wasn’t so much as unprepared as just unexperienced.

The questions were based on situations I’ve been in and how I’ve handled them. Now it’s not that I haven’t got life experience – I have; 19 years of it – it’s that the life experience I have they aren’t interested in. I’ve been through a lot in 19 years from the death of my dad, to the divorce of my mum and step-dad to my coming out when I was just 13. But these things aren’t taken into account. You don’t get a point for every time that you’ve cried.

And whilst I’ve experienced diversity and being under a strict time constraint my examples don’t seem to be very impressive. They’re about school and what little difficult situations I have faced at work.

For the first time in a long time I feel like my age is against me. I feel useless.

I have a headache and I feel like I want today to be over. I just want some sleep.

10 thoughts on “When you don’t quite hit that mark.

  1. michelle0509 says:

    It sounds like some of those interviews where you go in to get your first job and the guy behind the desk says “Sorry. We’d really love to hire you but we’re looking for someone with job experience.” Now how in the heck are we expected to get job experience if no one will give s a freaking job?
    Sorry about the headache 😦

Leave a Reply

