I hate change.

I’ll do a more general post on how I hate change but here comes a specific example.

Yesterday, I saw a woman who I used to see quite a lot and used to talk to in some depth. I expected a warm reception but it was slightly frosty. I tried a joke. Still frosty.

That upset me and left a sour taste in my mouth. I guess I just expected more.

Maybe it was because she was stressed or because I hadn’t seen her for a long time so she felt uneasy. But either way I can’t help but think that maybe I’ve done something wrong or came on too strongly?

3 thoughts on “I hate change.

  1. Bill says:

    It’s just “the weather”. Can’t control it. Just have to live in it. Sometimes sunny, you can meet it open and exposed. Sometimes cold and stormy, and you have to dress in coats and rain jackets and umbrellas. Only, with peoples’ moods, there’s no forecast… You usually find out only when they’re right in front of you and it’s too late to dress appropriately. Sounds like she was a cold storm… Prob has nothing to do with you. And, so what if it does? It obviously wasn’t anything intentional on your part.

    I find that the biggest way to ruin my day (and life) is to judge myself by other people’s fickle moods. It’s like judging myself because the weather outside is too hot / too cold / too…whatever.

    (over the years I’ve always hated it when people showed up at my post and offered “advice”… and here i am doing it to you… oops… Sorry…) 😉

    • That’s true – it really set me up to be grumpy allllll day! I just wish she could have masked her bad mood a bit instead of passing it onto me… Haha, I don’t mind the advice at all – in fact I rather like it. 🙂

  2. Jack says:

    Urmmm this isn’t who i think it is? i hope!

Leave a Reply

