I miss the theatre.

I miss everything about school trips to the theatre. As I did theatre studies at A level I saw a lot of shows. There didn’t seem to be a month that went by when we didn’t go and see a play.

I miss the build up, the cramped coach journey and the compulsory pre-show McDonalds. I miss the ice cream in the interval, the moments when I dropped off to sleep and the late night sentimental chats in the comfort of the darkness of the coach.

I miss it all.

I miss writing reviews, reading reviews and doing anything to do avoid doing the previous two things.

I was at work earlier and a woman made a comment relating to a play, assuming that I’d have no idea what she was on about. But I did. The play she referenced I’d read (and hated). I felt so clever being able to talk about it in some depth andย I missed being surrounded by like minded people.

I then started to look for quotes from my favourite plays and I realised (while reading a review of Sarah Kane’s “Blasted”) that the theatre meant more to me than I once thought it did.

It was tackling an opinion I had and wanted to change, it was holding a friend’s hand during an uncomfortable scene, it was tapping into the tiny part of me that wanted to act.

It wasย more than just a show.

8 thoughts on “I miss the theatre.

  1. 3DCitizen says:

    As someone who has been in the theatre for 10 years before my studies took me elsewhere, I can honestly say I miss it. Having knowledge about theatre, I think, makes for an immediately more satisfying discussion. Being on the stage with the lights shining down on you and a crowd of 100s hanging on your everyword with no strings attached… blissful.

    I too, miss the theatre.

    • I completely agree – I loved being able to talk about the theatre and playwrights last night as I haven’t done so for such a long time. I’m sorry to hear you miss the theatre too though.

      • 3DCitizen says:

        Aye, indeed the stage is gone. However, that doesn’t mean we can’t use what we learned there to great affect. There is no greater a feeling then to be underestimated, know your being underestimated, and then know that you can ~easily~ prove their estimations incorrect.

        In essence, it’s what makes your knowledge so dangerous. Now you live a life outside of the theatre, but you still have that intuition about you. Congratulations, you have become unwittingly unpredictable. Half the glory of theatre is in improvisation. Isn’t that what makes life the most interesting?

      • That not only made a lot of sense but made me smile too! Thank you. I’ve never thought of it that way before but it does make me unpredictable, and I like that!

  2. YourStalkerEmily says:

    I like this a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚ What was the play, by the way? ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

