Music.

Up until recently my music has been scattered around everywhere – both literally and metaphorically. There were CDs on my floor, notes reminding me to look songs up and texts on my phone only containing a few lines of an important song. This all changed when I bought an iPod.

Feel free to hate me for this but I’ve never been an iPod fan. Or an Apple fan for that matter. But I finally gave in and I’m glad I did. iTunes has opened up a whole new world to me and stripped me of about Β£100 but we’ll glaze over that…

Now my music is all in one place and I adore it.

There’s songs that remind me of the summer when I was 14, songs that remind me of snowy winter walks in December, songs that remind me of school trips, friendships, the feeling of complete and utter loneliness, my dad, a pet that’s died, a time I cried and plenty of times that I’ve smiled and laughed.

I was on the way home from work a couple of months ago and I caught the end of a conversation on the radio. I can’t remember exactly what the presenter said but it was something along the lines of (and I’m paraphrasing) “The music you listen to in your youth will be the most important to you and will influence you the most and stay with you the longest”. And it’s true.

I need only hear the opening chords of The Kook’s “She moves in her own way” and I’m transported back to warm summer nights and long cycle rides and my desperate attempts to impress a girl. “Goodbye Mr A” by The Hoosiers instantly reminds me of the years I spent volunteering and Rihanna’s “Umbrella” always reminds me of the day me and some friends walked to school in the pouring rain in the July of 2007. Little did we know that later that day we would no longer be worried about our clothes getting wet or our hair going curly as our houses would be flooded by at least a foot or sewage water.

I could list my favourite and most memorable songs all day but instead I think I might go and listen to some.

8 thoughts on “Music.

  1. Yes, I love music and keep up with new stuff but the tunes I jammed to as a teen and into my early 20’s always seem to find their way into the rotation the most.

  2. RoseofTARDIS says:

    Good move caving in and buying an ipod! I’ve had one for years but still manage not to have my music all in one place. Mainly due to lack of motivation. I still have CD’s and an old MP3 player with music that is not on my ipod. Funny you mentioned umbrella as one of the songs that brings you back. I also have a memory of that song with friends in 07. My friend Phil (who is a muscular large guy) made me laugh for over an hour singing this song and dancing around when it first came out and it still makes me smile to this day. Have a good one!

    • Ah I know! People had been nagging at me and then I caved! πŸ™‚ Ahh yeah I know what you mean, it’s a pain getting it all organised. Haha, that sounds brilliant! I’ll always think of that now too! You too! πŸ™‚

  3. shangreene says:

    I loved my ipod for many years. Then it sprang apart and never worked again. Ah … , my $400 and my 1200 songs that I had put on it – poof!

  4. YourStalkerEmily says:

    “I love you through sparks and shining dragons, I do”.

Leave a Reply

