The dangers of comedy.

Earlier, a memory suddenly came back to me with a bang. It wasn’t as if I’d been thinking about anything to do with it but suddenly I remembered something about school.

Our school’s internet used to be provided by the local council. This meant that certain things could be restricted and each person’s internet usage could be monitored. For a long time, it also gave a reason as to why a page had been blocked. Common reasons included: mature/adult content, games and illegal (illegal was used to cover general bad stuff I think). Then there was “comedy”.

Comedy.

How is comedy a threat?

It got me thinking about what connotations comedy has. I’ve always been 100% supportive of all things comedy. I think it helps to bring people together and other people out of their shell but do other people agree?

I mean what is so threatening about comedy?

I understand that it could have distracted us from our work but so could friends, phones and food and, by the time we all reached sixth form, these were plentiful.

I can understand that some humour can be offensive and quite explicit but here’s an example of an actual thing that was blocked: a picture of Simon Amstell.

Now I’m no expert but I don’t think there’s anything to worry about there. He’s got a cute face and nice hair and looks like the sort of guy you could take home to your parents and, above all, he has an untarnished comedy record. He hasn’t eaten a kitten on tv or slagged off one of our national treasures. There is literally no threat there. None.

I’d love to know who thought that was troublesome in some way. I’d like to meet them, shake their hand and say “You might have protected me in school but outside of school I was salivating over pictures of Simon Amstell, staying up till 2 in the morning to watch “Mock the week” and reading Michael McIntyre’s autobiography. You failed to stop me from being exposed to comedy and now I am comedy mad. I hope you’re happy.”

I certainly am.

2 thoughts on “The dangers of comedy.

  1. shangreene says:

    “Now I’m no expert but I don’t think there’s anything to worry about there. He’s got a cute face and nice hair and looks like the sort of guy you could take home to your parents and, above all, he has an untarnished comedy record.”

    This guy’s hiding something for sure! Once he got you back to his place this guy would turn into an octopus! I know, this was my exact modus operandi!

Leave a Reply

