Stupid things people say: no. 5

“Live every day as if it’s your last.”

I understand living life to the max but some things have consequences.

Sometimes I question life and it’s value and the amount of control others have over me. Sometimes I think “Ah what does it matter what I do? Unless I do something huge, in a few hundreds of years me and my life and everything I did won’t matter.” This particular revelation happened at the top of Primrose Hill and was followed by a lot of deep thinking and ridiculously metaphorical conversations and even a couple of low flying birds. But I digress…

I like to think that I live life to the max.Β I take risks and pictures and I have fun and fried food and go for walks and to see films. And you know what I’d love to take more risks and say more things I shouldn’t but here’s the thing: today probably isn’t going to be my last day. Yeah, I know I could drop dead at any time but does that mean I should start doing irrational stuff left, right and centre just in case I die tomorrow?

I’d love to only eat fried food and ice cream, tell people that I hate what I really think of them and make romantic gestures that would make even the most stubborn of women fall to my feet but if I do that today what will I do tomorrow when I’m still alive and have to deal with the consequences?

I know the phrase isn’t meant to be taken literally but it annoys me as it gives some people permission to do things that they wouldn’t normally. It’s a bit like YOLO (you only live once) as that gives the impression that you can do whatever you want because hey you have one life so why not make the most of it?

Anyway, I’m off to jump off a cliff, speed in my car and propose to a woman that I’ve only known for one day. YOLO.

11 thoughts on “Stupid things people say: no. 5

  1. Bill says:

    I agree. Pinterest, for instance, is full of cutsie sayings that don’t really carry a lot of weight in real life. Sayings that make all of life seem like an “Eat, Pray, Love” novel. It’s not. It’s more like “Eat, Sleep, Work, Pay Bills, Get Taken, Pissed Off, Old, Fat, Murphey’s Law, 9-5, Peanut Butter and Jelly on any old Tuesday…” And, to me, the best advice is always about how to deal with all that and find beauty and some manner of peace and happiness anyway. And, you know, I haven’t seen a stitch of evidence that we only live once. In fact, looking at folk’s karma, I’d say there’s more evidence to the contrary.

    Good post. ~You had me at “fried food and ice cream.” πŸ™‚

    • Exactly! Man (or woman) cannot live off eat, sleep and love alone! Where’s laughter in all of that?! Laughter is a must! I tell you what, if we live more than once I’m going to do a few things differently! Haha, that’s how I get most people! πŸ˜€

  2. Hahaha! Let me know how “living like it’s the last day of your life” went after proposing to that woman πŸ˜€

    I LOVED this post! It’s so true and funny πŸ™‚

  3. girlinsapphire says:

    I really like your posts. And I don’t just like them because you like mine. I mean, like I stalker-status like your posts. Please write more often! πŸ™‚

  4. Julie says:

    Love your post and thanks for checking out mine. Julie

  5. Md. Alsanda says:

    Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

