Reflection.

Over the past few days I have had lots of time for reflection. And, with recent events in mind, I’ve been more reflective than I normally am.

Today, I found a note from a friend of mine and it made me think about how much had changed since the note was written.

A year ago today I was leaving school – pretty naive to the world and with little direction other than knowing that I needed money and wanted to make new friends.

In the past year I have laughed and cried more than I ever have in a year. That is a fact. I’ve sobbed on the phone for two hours and laughed at work till I couldn’t breathe and tears streamed down my face. I’ve driven over 5,000 miles in my beloved, and sometimes useless, car and I’ve gained about a stone in weight.

If you’d have said to me a year ago that I’d be facing some of the things I have recently I would have given you a death stare and would have told you to return to the hole which you crept out from. But hindsight is a great thing.

A year on from my last day at school and I’ve had lots to learn. I’ve matured but also become less mature. I’ve faced a whole new round of coming out and I’ve met some people that I couldn’t imagine not having in my life. I’ve lost, gained, forgiven and not forgotten.

But I’m still the same Wagg: with the same photo face, the same love for kittens and the same weird dreams night after night.

I’m still me. Just a year older and maybe even a year wiser.

2 thoughts on “Reflection.

  1. Jack says:

    Aww i love this πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

