How long is a piece of string?

Slightly misleading title but it’ll make more sense in a minute.

Recently, I was in pain and I was asked by a medical professional how much pain I was in using a 1 to 10 scale (1 being in no pain and 10 being in the worst pain I have ever felt). Now, I know they have to ask this question to gain an understanding of how much pain a person is in but here’s the thing: I have a very low pain threshold. Very low. Paper cuts and migraines ruin me, let alone the kind of pain I was faced with a couple of days ago.

I’m prety sure pain is relative and so I find it hard to see how it can be measured. What was extremely painful for me might not have been for someone else. And I know the scale is based around how much pain I’ve been in before and how the current pain ranks but I’m not sure how accurate it is.

Regardless, I was in pain.

6 thoughts on “How long is a piece of string?

  1. greatwhitebrow says:

    Dare we ask how this pain occurred?

  2. Jack says:

    ā¤ Glad your getting better Wagg. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

