Stupid things people say: no.1

I hate flying. I hate boats. I’m not a big fan of trains and I’m petrified of the underground.

I like my bike and my car (sometimes).

My biggest fear is that I will be involved in a major plane accident and die. And, to make me feel better, people say stupid things like “you’re more likely to die in a car accident than a plane crash!”.

Thanks, now I can’t get in my car either.

See that might be a fact. That might be an actual scientific nugget of truth. But I’m not so sure.

Of course I’m more likely to die in a car crash. But not because planes are safer. I’m in a car more! Now I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking that I’m ignorant and deliberately finding reasons not to fly and to hate people who says things that are potentially meant to help me. But my way of thinking makes sense too you know.

Let’s say that one person has five cats and one person has no cats. The person with five cats is more likely to get cat hair on them, right? But that’s not because they rub up against cats all the time! It’s because of the exposure they have to them.

See what I mean?

No?

Ok.

4 thoughts on “Stupid things people say: no.1

  1. Cloudy says:

    Actually, per mile, an airliner IS safer than a car… In a car, there is that traffic hurtling past you just half a meter away. In an airplane, even a small private one, the other planes are usually several kilometers away… that’s why I fly my own airplanes!

Leave a Reply

